# Minutes of a meeting of the Worthing Council 23 May 2023 at 6.30 pm

The Mayor, Councillor Henna Chowdhury The Deputy Mayor, Councillor Jon Roser

| Councillor Helen Abrahams     | *Councillor Heather Mercer    |
|-------------------------------|-------------------------------|
| Councillor Noel Atkins        | Councillor Nigel Morgan       |
| Councillor Mike Barrett       | Councillor Richard Mulholland |
| Councillor Caroline Baxter    | Councillor Richard Nowak      |
| Councillor Ödül Bozkurt       | *Councillor Dale Overton      |
| Councillor Ibsha Choudhury    | *Councillor Hilary Schan      |
| Councillor Russ Cochran       | Councillor Dawn Smith         |
| Councillor Dr Beccy Cooper    | Councillor Elizabeth Sparkes  |
| Councillor Sophie Cox         | Councillor Emma Taylor        |
| *Councillor Dan Coxhill       | Councillor Sam Theodoridi     |
| Councillor Rita Garner        | Councillor Hazel Thorpe       |
| Councillor Cathy Glynn-Davies | Councillor John Turley        |
| Councillor Dan Hermitage      | *Councillor Steve Waight      |
| Councillor Margaret Howard    | *Councillor Carl Walker       |
| Councillor Daniel Humphreys   | Councillor Vicki Wells        |
| *Councillor Claire Hunt       | Councillor Andy Whight        |
| *Councillor Charles James     | Councillor Rosey Whorlow      |
| Councillor Kevin Jenkins      |                               |
|                               |                               |

<sup>\*=</sup>absent

(The Mayor, Councillor Henna Chowdhury in the Chair)

## C/1/23-24 Apologies for Absence

The Mayor received apologies for absence from Councillors Coxhill, Hunt, James, Mercer, Overton, Schan, Waight and Walker.

## C/2/23-24 Election of the Mayor

It was proposed by Councillor Dan Hermitage and seconded by Councillor Dr Beccy Cooper that Councillor Jon Roser be elected to serve as Mayor for the coming year.

**Resolved** that Councillor Jon Roser be elected Mayor of the Borough of Worthing for the 2023-24 Municipal Year.

There was an adjournment whilst the newly elected Mayor received the Insignia.

Councillor Jon Roser returned to the Chamber and made his Declaration of Acceptance of Office and then addressed the Council.

(The Mayor, Councillor Jon Roser, in the Chair)

## C/3/23-24 Appointment of the Deputy Mayor

The Mayor proposed that Councillor Ibsha Choudhury be appointed to serve as Deputy Mayor in 2023/24, the proposal was seconded by Councillor Hazel Thorpe.

**Resolved** that Councillor Ibsha Choudhury be appointed as Deputy Mayor for the 2023/24 Municipal Year.

## C/4/23-24 Returning Officer's Return of Persons Elected

The Council noted the Returning Officer's return of persons elected in the Borough Elections held on 4 May 2023.

#### C/5/23-24 Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest made.

### C/6/23-24 Confirmation of Minutes

**Resolved** that the minutes of the meeting held on 18 April 2023 be approved as a correct record and that they be signed by the Mayor.

# C/7/23-24 Vote of thanks to the outgoing Mayor and presentation of past Mayor and Consort Insignia

A vote of thanks to the outgoing Mayor was proposed by the Mayor, seconded by Councillor Kevin Jenkins and it was unanimously

Resolved that the Council placed on record its sincere thanks to Councillor Henna Chowdhury for the fine manner in which she upheld the tradition of the Office of Mayor of the Borough, for her service to the community of Worthing, for the fair business like way in which she presided over the meetings of the Council and that the Council also expressed its sincere thanks to Millad Chowdhury for the dedicated and friendly manner in which he carried out the duties of Consort.

The Mayor presented the outgoing Mayor with her Past Mayor insignia and Millad Chowdhury with the past Consort insignia.

### C/8/23-24 Items raised under Urgency Provisions

There were no urgent items.

### C/9/23-24 Announcements by the Mayor and / or Head of Paid Service

There were no announcements from the Mayor or the Head of Paid Service.

The Mayor used his discretion to allow the Leader to welcome the newly elected councillors following the local elections on the 4th May.

## C/10/23-24 Political proportionality and allocation of committee seats

Before the Council was a report by the Director for Sustainability and Resources, copies of which had been distributed to all Members and a copy of which is attached to the signed copy of these minutes as item 10.

The report outlined a number of decisions required by Council to ensure that the decision making structure for 2023/24 was determined according to the Council's Constitution.

It was noted that an updated Appendix B had been circulated in advance of the meeting detailing the nominations for Committee Memberships from each of the political groups and the chair and vice-chair nominations.

The recommendations outlined in the report, were proposed by Councillor Dr Beccy Cooper and seconded by Councillor Cathy Glynn-Davies.

Council unanimously approved the recommendations following a vote.

### Resolved

That the Council

- i) noted the decision making structure of the Council and the political balance of the Council as detailed in paragraphs 4.1, 4.2 and Appendix A;
- ii) appointed to the Committees in accordance with the wishes of the Political Groups on the Council, as detailed in Appendix B (attached);
- iii) agreed that the Chairs and Vice-Chairs of Committees, as detailed in Appendix B (attached), be appointed until the Annual Meeting of the Council in May 2024:
- iv) in accordance with Council Procedure Rule 38, the Council noted the appointment of the Leader of the Conservative Group on the Council, as the Leader of the Main Opposition.

## **C/11/23-24** Youth Mayor

Council noted that Alba Braham would be the Youth Mayor in 2023/24.

The Mayor announced that he was looking forward to their support during his mayoral year.

The Mayor declared the meeting closed at 7.28pm.